New To Laravel and October CMS

Hello,

I have been searching for a good solution for an old gaming community that was using IPS as it’s framework. I’m trying to decide if October CMS is a good solution. The state of his current site is very stagnant and most gaming communities use Discord as their communication platform these days.

Watching videos and reading about Tailor, it’s very exciting to see this. I’ve been a Wordpress guy and have always used tools like Jet Builder to make my own custom post types/taxonomies in WP. Tailor seems to do the exact same thing and since that’s a core component it’s amazing. (Hope they expand the features of it in the future)

So I was wondering if any experts with October could help steer me in the right direction or even if this is the right tool to use to re-build the site.

Hello,

well I’m not an October expert, but since I’ve been working with WordPress (prior version 5.0.0) for years I can say that OctoberCMS is not comparable to WordPress at all. Not only because the codebase of WordPress has never been completely modernized while Laravel uses the most modern approaches, but also because the whole environment and the way how you achieve things is completely different. As a former OctoberCMS dev said once, “[OctoberCMS is] more of a Content Management Framework than your average CMS”.

The huge Pro and Contra is:

While WordPress provides dozens of plugin for almost everything, October offers rather less here and requires some coding / programming on your own side (even with Tailor). However, creating new and extending existing functions and features is way easier, compared to WordPress, due to the Laravel background and the dynamic approaches and behaviours of October itself. You probably just need to have both open, the OctoberCMS and the Laravel documentations (especially for Eloquent, which is the $wpdb from Laravel).