What could help new users learn OctoberCMS more quickly?

Hi everyone,

This is a general discussion to gauge the main difficulties encountered when first learning OctoberCMS.

• Initial Challenges:
    • What was the most difficult part of getting started with OctoberCMS?
  • Documentation and Resources:
    • How helpful is the documentation? Are there specific areas that need improvement?
  • Learning Speed:
    • What could help new users learn OctoberCMS more quickly?

Additional comments are welcome. Thank you for your input.

3 Likes

Hello, I am a frontend developer using OctoberCMS in production for about 5 years.

Initial Challenges: it was a bit difficult when I started because the documentation was not as friendly as it is now. Everything became more clear after watching a series of tutorials on the “Watch and Learn” YouTube channel that covered a lot of features, if not all the features available at that time. After that, searching through the documentation was much easier.

Documentation and Resources: for me, it is much easier to understand the documentation now, compared to the previous version. Also continue promoting October Talk. I prefer to solve “my problems” here instead of a chat group. Sometimes I can find similar issues here and I don’t even need to ask anymore and it’s just because I was advised to come here from the Telegram channel.

Learning Speed: New colleagues seem to learn the features faster than I did. I think the videos are a more attractive way for learning, so maybe, if possible, more videos in future.

I understand that making videos takes a lot of time and they might become outdated in a short period. For example, I use GSAP and with each major update, they update their documentation videos with new detailed versions, which makes it much easier and faster to learn. On YouTube there’s a lot of outdated video tutorials and I personally avoid them in general.